Last day in the studio

Drums, drums, drums and drums. And then some drums. That pretty much sums up Monday's work. I haven't played the drums since April since I haven't had a rehearsal place - so I am a bit rusty, but all in all I think I've done pretty well." Fake it 'til you make it" as they say.
It wasn't all drums though - I did some vocals on a couple of songs too, which is the must fun part to do' cos that's when the songs come to life so to speak, the essence of the songs come out. The soul if you want. I always write songs around the lyrics and not lyrics around songs
Everything has been running according to plan, with the exception for one song - a little thing I wrote a couple of months ago called "The Kiterunner", yes it was named after the best seller with the same name ( a brilliant book if you ask me). I have the structure totally clear in my head, I know every chord, every crash, every floor drum and every single beat on the snare and still when I played it, it just didn't feel right...so I am thinking of ditching it for this thime and re - think the structure. Maybe I should just peel a lot of stuff off of it and turn it into a somewhat more naked accoustic thing? Maybe...hmmm...

I ran in to an old aquantaince on my way over to the studio this morning, an ex girlfriend of an ex friend of mine. She's nice and we talked a little before we went our separate ways. Funny how an old familiar face can bring you back to the past just like that. A second and you're back four or five years in time, remembering whatever it was you were doing at the time, streets and faces and smells and what not...

Today(Tuesday)  we focused again on...tada...DRUMS AND VOCALS! And some bass, which sadly I have to admit I am even more rusty on than the drums. I have a bass at home but it's impossible to tune correctly so I never play on it and today that showed. Oh man...
Well, I'm not complaining, I have had the best couple of days in a long long time, I am so happy and excited about these recordings and even if I won't finish it this time, I have done a whole lot and I will continue hopefully in January. Tomorrow (Wednesday) is the last day, our train back to Malmö leaves at 17.
 I'm writing this sitting in front of a fire at Sara's aunts place - an old beautiful house in the outskirts of Stockholm. An open fire is one of the most calming, soothing things I can think of. The snap crackle and pop and the heat. Just staring into a fireplace is way better than tv.

It's a strange recording session. I am the only one playing any instruments. I am the band. I ike it, I mean it's so much fun playing and recording but at the same time it's kind o f sad being  there. I mean sometimes I miss being in a band, talking about the takes and discussing alternatives with other people. Magnus that is recording it is great though and my best friend Daniel has also been hanging out n the studio and he is a guy that I've known for many years and I trust his opinion and his knowledge about music. He's a good good friend indeed and I am proud to know him.
I don't want to go back to Malmö tomorrow, I don't want to go back to work, I don't want to go back to a city where I don't know anyone, where the streets seem to shrink down on me wherever I walk, where I feel like an outcast and a stranger in places that I once loved and felt so much at home at.
 Oh well, just like anyone else I guess I just have to take a deep breath and think good thoughts ad do whatever I have to do to get through the everyday life until next time I get the chance to record again.

Daniel demonstrating how to use a battery.     
Some indie kid with a guitar  
"Love will tear us apart" was recorded through this table.
  Stairs down to the dungeon
  Slussen, Stockholm

  Slussens ugly side
   Ok, travelling by train every time you're going somewhere might not be my favourite thing to do in the world, but it was ok this time...
  "MELLON"
  Some stupid indie kid again


Comments

Comment this entry:

Name:
Remember me?

Email address:

URL:

Comment:

Trackbacks