A Failed Attemp To Link Reviews

I just spent an hour trying to put up links to a whole bunch of Amaterasu reviews, but I failed. I had a long list of them, but when I tried them most of them where either to old to still work or they just didn't work. For reasons unknown to me. I am a newcomer still in this internet world, haha!

Anyway, since I failed to come up with the links ,I'll share this with you instead: an example of what can happen with a text when incerted into a free webtranslator.Look extra closely at the "quote" from "Then I Will Miss You"!
 Enjoy!


P.S. The original text was well written and a good review as well. It was taken from a Dutch blog called Motel Magnolia. ;-)


David Fridlund – Amaterasu

David Fridlund has brought out finally a solo album. And what kind of a! After years work furnished to have with its tie David & The Citizens, is the solo project now come and has yielded that a beautiful album: Amaterasu. Possibly an escape of David & The Citizens, which it went always less well with, and that escape is now for the listener also on Amaterasu to discover: Is "life pretty to you, honored just pretty fucked plain fizzy drink?" becomes already in the second number sung.

The album begins with a titelloos number, where only an outside taken up sample to hear is and what in the last number again returns. Also remarkable is that the second number begins with a woman's voice, that of partner Sara Culler. Fortunately lasts the but a few rules before David Fridlund self enters and from that moment know you that the good comes with this album. It follow interpret beautiful numbers that are now again almost swinging (April&May, White Van), and then again complete melancholy (Before It Breaks, Then I Want beauty Queen You). A large part of the accompaniment is formed come by a swinging piano, but also guitar and strijkers amply at bid.

The number Then I Want is the absolute high point of this album beauty Queen You. Imminent strijkers that later on in the number the emptinesses of the missed person fill up must and more large make therefore the drama only. Beautiful support through guitar and strijkers, meerstemmige song, and as a guide of Fridlund's song self that calm and meanwhile he remains controls sings:

"I bone older had, had I known what he meant, I would not property bone quiet; I would property ripped his heart out, the chest and chopped it down his throat again. But I sat satisfy. And I hero your hand."

And just the beheerstheid of David Fridlund self prevents that the over-the-top drama becomes and with that sees to this number absolutely for the fifth clew line. Someone else high point is the number Three Pictures (Or You & You & You), what a good structure shows and also a good example is of the alternation on the cd. Only actual its all numbers high points.

Amaterasu (in the Japanese mythology the godess of the sun) certainly will not go bore and through the alternation becomes appearance that Fridlund drowns in self-pity., . Fridlund has precise the right balance know to find and Amaterasu is now a beautiful plate become that you certainly do not may masses!


Comments
Posted by: Anonym

Hi, David.

Sorry about the lost reviews! I have a
project of my own that gets a fair amount press coverage. I've learned it's always best to save a copy on my hard drive of any reviews found on web pages since they tend to turn into broken links eventually. On my site's press page, I'll both quote the full review's text and provide a link to where it is (or used to be located) online.

Best of luck with the new solo recdordings. Looking forward to hearing the results!

Best,

-Brendan

2006-05-10 @ 04:13:39

Comment this entry:

Name:
Remember me?

Email address:

URL:

Comment:

Trackbacks